What Is Halal Wine? Plus Top 10 Halal Wine List (2022)

by | Dec 23, 2021 | Halal | 0 comments

Many individuals do not realize halal is an Arabic word meaning permissible. This word can be applied to any beverage and food. 

 

When Halal wine is prepared, it must adhere it Islamic law. Halal wine was originally developed to serve both international and national Muslim communities to ensure religious compliance could be met. 

 

Today, the top halal wines are enjoyed by a wide variety of people in addition to Muslims.

 

The producers of halal wines must follow exacting and strict conditions. The wine must pass numerous technical and religious examinations prior to receiving halal certification. 

 

All certification is received by either Halal Quality Control or the Halal Institute of the Islamic Board. One of the advantages of this type of wine is it is safe for people with alcohol allergies as well as nursing or pregnant women because it does not contain any alcohol.

 

This means members of the Muslim community can be comfortable when drinking wine provided it has the halal label. 

 

Different types of wine are selected according to the occasion. A good example is sparkling halal wine is often chosen for celebrations and rich, savory meals pair perfectly with red halal wines. The first patent for wine not containing alcohol was issued in approximately 1908.

 

Unfortunately, at this time halal wine sold in the market contained a minimum of 0.5 percent alcohol. 

 

The followers of Islam were unable to drink this wine or consume any kind of narcotics or alcohol since it had been declared as haraam. 

 

The Quran forbids the use of any substance with an intention of becoming intoxicated. It makes no difference if the individual is consuming, smoking or drinking it because it is haraam.

 

All foods and beverages are considered haram if they contain even the smallest quantity of alcohol. 

 

This includes teriyaki sauce. If minute alcohol traces are present in the wine or food due to a chemical reaction resulting from manufacturing, it is considered exempt from this rule. Both gambling and alcohol are prohibited by Muslim teachings because they are believed to be the handiwork of Satan.

 

Muslims also believe consuming alcohol is a distraction from their prayers and is considered to be among the most shameful of evils. Until recently, Muslims were unable to drink wine. This changed when halal wines were developed and became available on the market.

 

 

halal wine

 

 

 

What is Halal Certification?

 

Certification is an important part of halal wine history and is a type of process. All of the halal wines mentioned in this article have received certification. 

 

There are several different Islamic groups participating in the certification process for halal. Companies pay fees for the inspection of their products. When qualified, certification is granted. Once regulations are passed, the wine can be labeled as halal certified.

 

At this point, Muslims can purchase and drink these wines. Muslims are aware that certification as halal is a guarantee of superior quality and safety for the wine or food product. 

 

Many people that do not drink alcoholic wine turn to halal since this certification guarantees there is no alcohol contained in the product. 

 

There are also types of non-alcoholic wines specifically created for Muslims to ensure the rules of the Quran are followed precisely.

 

How is Halal Wine Made?

 

According to the producers of halal wine, the caloric content is only 50 percent of what is found in a traditional alcoholic wine. 

 

Producers have also stated this type of wine offers a lot of benefits. Some of the health benefits include decreasing the risk of cancer and inhibiting arteriosclerosis. The actual process used to make halal wine includes vacuum distilling using a low temperature.

 

The purpose of this type of distilling is to preserve the flavor and ensure the taste is very similar to traditional wines. 

 

Halal wine tastes completely different than processed grape juice and can only be purchased at extremely select outlets. There are currently many different types of halal wine available including red, white, sparkling and bubbly.

 

In addition to offering Muslims a wider variety of options for social events, halal wine is also an excellent alternative for anyone conscious of their health including individuals driving vehicles and pregnant women. This is an excellent way to enjoy a glass of wine without having to worry about the effects of potential intoxication. Each type offers a different flavor to ensure everyone can find their favorite.

 

 

halal wine

 

 

 

Halal Wine History

 

According to history, the rules determining what is permitted under halal and what is not have just one constant, there is none. 

 

The criteria for what is considered halal has been debated, updated and changed numerous times by Islamic jurists. This is a response to the changing needs of Islamic communities all over the world. These adjustments have been made throughout history.

 

The rules of halal are consistently reinterpreted, understood in new ways and have sparked debates. 

 

The Quran is the sacred book of Islam. The information regarding what is permissible and lawful or forbidden and haram is contained in this book. There are reasons for these debates including what is permissible for the Muslim diet and what is not.

 

The issue is the verses in the Quran pertaining to haram and halal are frequently vague in addition to not providing much in the way of details. 

 

These verses are referred to as hadiths. When a leader in the Muslim community is looking for clarification, they read the hadiths written by the prophet Muhammad. The intention is to find clarity so food and beverage rules can be developed according to the Quran.

 

A good example of the way halal rules have been adjusted by the leaders of Islam is intoxicants.

 

These rules have been adapted according to the needs of modern Muslim communities. Even though the Islamic community views alcohol as a destructive force for the spirit, mind and body, the Quran does not expressly prohibit the use of alcohol.

 

The reason alcohol is considered haram is the corrosive effects on society due to intoxication. One of the biggest issues today is some products contain naturally occurring levels of alcohol in extremely small amounts. This is the reason so many interpretations have been created as to whether or not alcohol is allowed.

 

Some individuals believe any wine capable of intoxication is not permissible. This includes nabidh and vanilla extract. Nabidh is a drink containing mashed dates fermented for three days. The belief is the Prophet enjoyed this dish. Those representing the other side of the coin only have objections to products such as wine made from fermented grapes because intoxicating qualities develop as time passes.

 

According to deliberations in modern society, products containing traces of alcohol are the issue including soy sauce and kombucha. When rules pertaining to slaughter and diet according to the halal are considered. Jewish practices are often mentioned. This is because despite the differences there are also a lot of similarities. Both the Islamic and Jewish faiths prohibit consuming swine and blood.

 

Both religions allow bovines including cattle. One of the key differences is slaughtering, preparing and consuming food is more restrictive under Jewish laws. Halal meat is not considered kosher according to the majority of Orthodox Jews. All meat products labeled kosher are generally acceptable by Muslims. Both practices believe kindness for any animal being slaughtered is extremely important.

 

Kosher laws are extremely specific regarding who can conduct the killing of the animal such as an observant and well-trained male Jew. The reason Orthodox Jews reject halal meat is that Islamic law is a lot more liberal in this aspect. Recognition of the halal label has resulted in this type of food or wine becoming big business. Halal eateries and products are becoming much more common all over the world.

 

A good example is New York. One of the most popular options in the city is now halal food trucks. This often results in lines forming all the way down the block. Some people have refused to take a side in the debate regarding halal and will not become involved in this controversy. Others continue to follow beliefs initiated during the past.

 

In addition to halal wine, many halal food trucks also offer a wide variety of halal products. This includes Aylan which is a beverage containing Turkish yogurt, mint, salt and water in addition to morsels of lamb served with smoky baby ganoush, pita and creamy hummus. Desserts include pistachio cookies and sweet, sticky baklava. Many Muslims have shown the rules of halal live and breathe as a type of code as opposed to a set and inflexible doctrine.

 

As modern society evolves and changes and social and technological challenges result, the rules of halal are adjusted to compensate. Some people still believe halal refers to a specific type of cuisine as opposed to a certification necessary for consumption throughout the Muslim community. No matter what the belief regarding halal wine, it has become a success story across the globe.

 

Top 10 Halal Wines

 

The top halal wines currently include:

 

1) Pierre Chavin Grande Reserve is a red wine produced by Domaines with an alcohol content of zero percent. This wine is recommended for the intense flavor derived from a variety of ripe red fruits. This wine is full-bodied, complex and bold with hints of oak and spices.

 

 

2) Zero Zero Deluxe Red is also a red wine produced by Elivo with an alcohol content of zero percent. Although similar to the Domaines red, it is lighter and not as full-bodied. This wine offers a fragrant and fruity finish ideal for anyone interested in a wine with less richness.

 

halal wine

 

3) Senorio de la Tautila Blanco is a white wine with an alcohol content of zero percent. This wine is fresh, light, aromatic and has a good flavor intensity for white wine.

 

 

 

4) Zero Zero Deluxe is a white wine produced by Elivo with an alcohol content of zero percent. This wine is complex, fresh and light with fruit and floral aromas including melon and mango. The wine offers just a hint of smoke preferred by many.

 

halal wine

 

5) Pierre Chavin Zero is a rose wine produced by Domaines and has an alcohol content of zero percent. This wine is delicious, elegant and light with a slightly sweet finish and floral and fruit aromas.

 

halal wine

 

6) Princess Rosata Dry is another rose wine with an alcohol content of zero percent. This is a more tart wine with a drier finish and less aroma.

 

halal wine

 

 

7) Senorio de la Tautila Espumoso Blanco is a sparkling wine with an alcohol content of zero percent. The delicious taste is enhanced with bubbles and a fruity aroma to bring out the flavors. The production method is identical to Bruts.

 

halal wine

 

 

8) Pierre Chavin Perle Blanc is a sparkling wine produced by Domaines with an alcohol content of zero percent. This wine is aromatic, fresh and very light. The bubbles are a great alternative for champaign and enhance the flavor.

 

 

 

9) Princess Bollicine Bianco Sweet is a sparkling wine with an alcohol content of zero percent. Among all of the halal wines, this is the sweetest without being too sweet. This wine offers fruity floral notes and is a good option for anyone interested in something both sweet and bubbly.

 

 

halal wine

 

Benefits of Halal Wine

 

The benefits of halal wine include:

 

  • According to scientific studies, red wine not containing alcohol is good for the heart.

 

  • Halal wines are an excellent option for Muslim celebrations and gatherings to ensure the guests feel special.

 

  • Since halal wines do not contain any alcohol, they can be enjoyed by a wider range of people.

                                                    

 

                                

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Related News

0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Apply Coupon