Blogs , Halal

Are Eggs halal? The Definitive Guide to Halal Eggs in 2023

Are eggs halal or haram?

This debate has been raging over time, getting Muslims worried and also anxious to know if eggs are halal.

Our favorite ice cream, spring frittata, and tarragon egg salad are just a few of the foods and dishes we produce that contain eggs, which are known for being healthy and a rich source of protein just as fresh fruits.

Even some of us enjoy eating raw, boiled, or fried eggs.

Due to the nutritious significance of eggs, many households like to consume eggs by including them in their morning meal so that they can start the day with a full complement of nutrients.

One egg has up to 62.5 calories, 5.5 grams of high-quality protein, 1.4 grams of saturated fat, and up to 5 grams of fat. Eggs are also a good source of iron, vitamins, and other essential amino acids and nutrients and have high nutritional value.

Eggs are important for one’s health as they lower risk of heart disease, help maintain nervous system and build strong immune system.

This article will provide everything you need to know about the consumption of eggs for a muslim.




What is Halal Egg?


If you are familiar with this page, you have probably read about halal animals in many of the topics we have covered. 

The label halal is an Arabic word that means “permissible.”

What then are halal eggs? 

This indicates what types of eggs that are halal to eat. This means the egg are acceptable by Islamic dietary laws and considered inherently halal. 

In a nutshell, halal eggs are those that are not produced using raptors (birds that feed on animal flesh). 

Halal eggs may come from acceptable birds such as chicken eggs, turkeys, ostriches, pigeons, and other birds.

All birds that eat fruits, vegetables, and plants are halal, and this includes the by-products that they produce.


What is Haram Egg?


The word HARAM means non-permissible, eggs that are not permissible to be consumed by Muslims are simply eggs that come from haram animals that are predators or birds of prey, these animals are as follows

If the egg originates from the following animals, then they are considered haram to eat. Eggs from nonhalal animals such as:

  • Crocodile
  • Alligators
  • Komodo dragon
  • Snake
  • Falcon
  • Hawk
  • Vulture


Are Eggs Halal?


As much as I would love to say YES, allow me to help you remember that not all eggs come from chickens. 

Oh, now you remember,

Not only birds like chickens, Ostriches, Quail, Ducks, Guinea fowls, Pigeons, Parrots, etc.. lay eggs, but you should also remember reptiles lay eggs as well such as lizards, snake eggs, turtles, crocodiles, and alligators

Islam permits the consumption of eggs only if it is from birds like chicken, duck, ostrich, and so on.

Why are they permissible? Well, this is because these categories of eggs do not fall under the category of bird of prey i.e. hawk, eagle, vulture, etc. 

Islamic teachings forbid any kind of meat or by-products from animals that are predators, animals like raptors, reptiles, and carnivorous animals because most of them feed on the flesh of other animals, islam only permits the consumption of animals that feed on fruits and vegetables.


Are All Eggs Halal?


As discussed earlier, not all eggs are halal. The only eggs that are permissible by the guide of halal foods are eggs that are from a bird that isn’t a bird of prey.

Here are some eggs that are halal

  • Chicken egg
  • Turkey
  • Duck
  • Goose
  • Pigeons
  • Quail
  • Ostrich
  • Fish (roe/ caviar/ tobiko)


Can Muslims Eat Eggs?


Since Muslims are only permitted to consume halal foods, the  Hanafi scholars consider any eggs from permissible birds, regardless of how the hen/chicken is slaughtered either in a halal way or not, eggs are permissible for Muslims to consume since it does not require slaughtering.

Eggs from chicken, turkey, ostrich, fish, quail, and other eggs from birds that are not a bird of prey are considered halal, it is perfectly safe for Muslims to consume.


Can Muslims Eat Eggs With Blood?


This is a thoughtful and great question. Since Muslims don’t consume bloody kinds of stuff, be it bloody steaks, bloody chicken, or meat that is not thoroughly cooked or prepared, then can the Muslims eat bloody eggs or eggs with blood?

Usually, when you crack an egg and you can find some droplet of blood in it, You don’t have to worry, research makes it known that the blood spot doesn’t make an egg impure as this is just a ruptured blood vessel during egg formation. 

So yes Muslims can eat eggs with a ruptured blood vessel in them. Although it is a matter of personal choice you can choose to eat it and you can choose to not but it is considered permissible.


Are Unlaid Eggs Halal?


It might sound cruel or pitiful that some chickens/hens were slaughtered with eggs in them either with or without knowing that they were about to lay, which sounds closely like killing a pregnant mother with her unborn child.

According to Hanafi Scholars, an unlaid egg found in a chicken after being killed is considered halal regardless of how the chicken is slaughtered. It does not go beyond the Islamic rules for halal foods.


Is Eating Raw Eggs Halal?


Raw eggs are permissible. In many meals where eggs can be found raw in dishes or people eating eggs or drinking raw eggs is completely halal as long as the egg is from chicken or other birds that are not birds of prey.


Are Egg Shells Halal?


Wondering if people eat eggshells, however, a study claims that eggshells strengthen the bone. so how possible it is to eat eggshells? 

Well, according to research all you need to do is to wash your eggshell before breaking or boiling, then you can bake it and after that, you can take it for a grind till it turns to powder and then sprinkle it on your meal, I hope it tastes good.



Now that you have come to the end of the article, hope you know everything you need to know about eggs, considering the types of eggs that are considered haram and the types of animals lays them.

Islam preaches to eat organic and hygienic meals. It is important to eat foods that are halal ie food from permissible animals as they are halal and considered pure and a good support for a healthy immune system.

Only Allah knows best, and we pray Allah continues to shed abundant blessings on us and at the same time guard us to the right path in our everyday life. It is also important for us to follow what the Holy Quran says.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Apply Coupon